February 2017 - Digital Group - Browsing Raw Images

Meeting Notes March 2009 to 2018.
spb

February 2017 - Digital Group - Browsing Raw Images

Post by spb » Sat Feb 04, 2017 11:23 am

NEWS
Adobe have finally ceased support for Creative Suite (CS) programs such as the Photoshop CS6 that I have been using for several years. I needed raw support for my new Olympus camera so I have finally stumped up the £99.99 for an annual subscription for Creative Cloud (Photoshop CC and Lightroom). This was a little cheaper via Amazon, and APS gained few pennies commission. That was good timing as the price is going up in March 2017. If you are thinking of doing the same, the current price is still available as I write. Perpetual licences for Lightroom and Photoshop Elements continue to be available if you don’t want to pay for a subscription.

We’ve all seen documents carried by officials outside Number 10 Downing Street which have been read by modern high-resolution cameras. Now a fingerprint has been successfully cloned from a photography from 3 metres distance and used to fool a fingerprint reader. Best keep your gloves on.

Kodak plan to re-launch Ektachrome positive slide film this year, but contrary to rumours, not Kodachrome which was notoriously difficult to process. This colour film renaissance is being compared to the revival of vinyl albums. I won’t be joining either movement which are led by nostalgia rather than cold logic.

MATTERS ARISING
I have been pleased with my new Olympus OM-D M10 II, although the reduction to 16 Mpx is a bit of a shock. However, it continues to be a steep learning curve to set up the camera in the way that I want it. Everything is customisable but the downside is that many things need to be customised. In particular, inadvertent use of the touch screen is proving to be an issue – especially with focus points and my nose. I will report back on this in the near future.